Gifts of Hope

Last weekend we celebrated Thanksgiving in Canada.  It’s always a time for me to reflect on blessings. Like others, I’m thankful for family, friends, health, employment, shelter, food, and so much more. I’m also fortunate to have the gifts of hope, courage, and a vast array of life experiences.

A visit to St. Lazarus Community School in the Kibera slum.   I  have a background in education and felt right at home with chalk in hand surrounded by enthusiastic children.

Thinking about my recent trip to Kenya I was inspired to create a collection of images  to show that people all over the world find resources that help them overcome obstacles.  It is by reaching out to others and lending a hand that we can make a difference. By sharing our bounty of talents, gifts, and abilities we can contribute to the well-being of others.

Rachel Lomosi, (left front of the picture,) started this small school in the slums. Many of the children lost family during the recent civil unrest or to AIDS. There is no government funding for schools in the slum so St. Lazarus depends on donations. The school is made of corrugated metal, sticks, and clay.  There is no running water or electricity. Children read by the light filtering through openings in the roof.

The children at St. Lazarus danced and sang for me. I was honored to be welcomed so warmly. They delighted in showing me their notebooks and drawings and telling me a little about themselves. The children and staff embody the spirits of hope, courage and determination.

Take a moment to watch my slide show and think about what you’re thankful for and how you can offer gifts of hope to yourself, family and friends, and those less fortunate.

Prosperity Poverty Hope in East Africa  http://vimeo.com/51272536

To see more of my images, please visit my website http://marionmccristall.com

© Copyright Marion McCristall, all rights reserved

One thought on “Gifts of Hope

Leave a Reply

