Sun, Sand, and Protection

Savary Island at low tide

Summer is almost here…can you feel it?

Find a place at the shore where you can take in the ocean breezes, read a book, have a siesta, chat with friends, or, simply BE.

imagine having a picnic here

Remember to give some thought to the protection you will use to keep the sun and mosquitoes at bay?

I recently had the opportunity to spend a day on Savary Island, just off the coast of Powell River, BC.  I didn’t know what to expect with regards to flying insects so I tucked mosquito repellent in my pack along with some sunscreen.  My favourite sunscreen lotion is Ombrelle by L’Oreal.  It comes in various SPF strengths and I like how easily it blends into my skin.  I’m sensitive to perfumes so I appreciate the fact that it has very little scent.

I have been on the search for the perfect mosquito repellent for years and finally found one I like last summer.  It’s made by Watkins.  I apply small dabs of the lotion under my clothing and it does a good job of keeping the mosquitoes from biting.  I like the fact that it has a very light scent even though it contains 28.5% deet.

When I lived in Thailand, I used a brand called Jaico Mosquito Repellent but I can’t seem to find a source for it in Canada.  It comes in a roll-on and is stronger smelling but certainly worked well for me.  So if you live in Europe or Asia you may want to check it out.

When you’re at the beach be sure to check out the tide pools.  It’s interesting to see little creatures scurry around in their endless search for food.  It was fun to watch 5 or 6 tiny crabs fighting over a bit of clam flesh.

If you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I like to collect one or two little treasure to bring home.  The low tide left an abundance of seashells so it was easy to just scoop them up.

If you’re going to be in an area with lots of barnacles, be sure to wear something on your feet to prevent nasty cuts.  I still wince when I remember cutting up the soles of my feet running through barnacles at low tide when I was in my teens.  Mother Nature can certainly teach us some valuable lessons.

pretty to look at but watch out for the sharp edges

Now that summer is approaching, be sure to take time to relax at the beach or beside a stream.  It will nourish your soul and you’ll return home feeling refreshed and ready to go again.

Savary Island, British Columbia

One thought on “Sun, Sand, and Protection

  1. Another great post, nice shots of Savoury Island. We lived in Powell River, and I never got there. What a shame one doesn’t go to more local places. Keep the posts coming, love them.

Leave a Reply

