Great Little Appetizer

A Tasty Appetizer Any Time … Salami Wedges

Have you ever wondered what you could make for an appetizer that is delicious, quick to make, requires no heating, and can be prepared ahead of time?

Many years ago I had my own cooking school, Happy Hostess Cooking Company, near White Rock.  My students always loved the recipes they learned as they were no-nonsense, down to earth, and mouthwatering. During that time I wrote a cookbook called “Great Beginnings, Hors D’oeuvres, Appetizers, Soups, and Salads”…..sorry out of print now…..so from time to time, I will include recipes from my classes in this blog.

Here’s one of my favorites for you to enjoy

Salami Wedges

Salami Wedges

Ingredients

32 slices of Genoa salami sliced fairly thick (or other salami such as cervalat or Hungarian) Be sure to buy a few extra slices if you are tempted to sample as you cook….I call it “quality control.”

8 oz. cream cheese, softened (light cream cheese in a brick works as well)

1 green onion, finely chopped

½ tsp. Dijon mustard

½ clove fresh garlic, finely crushed

pepper to taste

Mix all together in a bowl.

Spread about 2 tsp. of the mixture onto one piece of salami, top with another piece, and continue until you have used 4 slices.  Place the stacks on a plate and refrigerate at least 2 hours or overnight.  Cut each stack in half, and then each half into 3 wedges.  Cover with plastic wrap and chill until serving time.  Garnish with parsley and cherry tomatoes.  Makes 4 dozen wedges.

Salami Wedge

Although my Mom was of British decent and my Dad was Italian, I pretty much lean towards the gutsy Italian side of life.  Although we didn’t have much money, I grew up enjoying Italian salami, olives, wild mushrooms, red wine, endive salad with olive oil and vinegar, the best spaghetti ….EVER….a recipe for another day….and so much more.

Salami Wedges are a favorite when we entertain and my kids make them as well.  Try the recipe….surprise your friends….enjoy.

One thought on “Great Little Appetizer

Leave a Reply

